Champions of Hope

September 19, 2019

Champions of Hope, an inspiring and uplifting recognition ceremony saluting four inspiring individuals for their achievements in the battle against cancer, will be held  Thursday, September 19, 2019  at the Dayton Steam Plant

To nominate your Champion of Hope, please download the form. The deadline for nominations is April 12, 2019.

Nomination Form

Proceeds will go to expand and enhance programs serving oncology patients at Miami Valley Hospital. For more information, to make a nomination or for sponsorship details, please contact Dennis Percy at or call the MVH Foundation office at (937) 208-2700. 

• Medical Professional: An individual from Miami Valley Hospital who has made contributions to the field over and above their professional responsibilities. A clinician who has touched the lives of one or more cancer patients.
• Cancer Caregiver: An individual who has made a difference in the lives of patients with cancer through self-sacrifice and unwavering optimism.
• Person of Inspiration: An individual who has reached out or advocated for others in the fight against cancer in a meaningful, impactful way. A special person whose example truly inspires others to continue through their own struggles with cancer.

The honorees will be introduced through video profiles followed by an award presentation and brief remarks from each recipient. The event includes heavy hors d’oeuvres, desserts and beverages.

Previous Award Winners
Caregiver Award – Laura Pannier
Medical Professional Award – Darla Subler, RN
Survivor Award – Stephanie Balsom
Caregiver Award – Sue Story
Medical Professional Award – James Sabiers, MD
Survivor Award – Caroline Mills
Inspiration Award – Jerry Armstrong
Caregiver Award – Susan Wright
Medical Professional Award – William Nahhas, MD
Survivor Award – Cary Dutiel
Inspiration Award – Sarah Campbell
Caregiver Award – Teresa Kramer
Medical Professional Award – Cass Swank, RN, BS
Survivor Award – Judy Kalthoff
Inspiration Award – Hank Deneski
Caregiver Award – Heather Salazar
Medical Professional Award – Claire Rodehaver
Survivor Award – Susie Thomas
Inspiration Award – Mary Margaret Brown
Caregiver Award – Debbie Muntz
Medical Professional Award – Linda Barney, MD
Survivor Award – Irma Johnston
Inspiration Award – Brenda Mitchell and Debbie Adams
Caregiver Award – Lori Simms Parks
Medical Professional Award – Melissa Roelle, MD
Survivor Award – Theresa Steinbruegge
Inspiration Award – Terri Baldasare
Caregiver Award – Emily Cone, RN
Medical Professional Award   Elena Mikalauskas, MS, RN
Survivor Award – Sharon Guenther, MSW, LISW-S
Inspiration Award – Sheryl Lee Bowman
Caregiver Award – Nancy DeRoo
Medical Professional Award – Kathy McCarthy, R.T.
Survivor Award – Ryan Davis
Inspiration Award – Jenell Ross
Caregiver Award – Philip Hartke
Medical Professional Award – James R. Ouellette, DO, FACS
Survivor Award –William “Brad” Flora
Inspiration Award – The Clemens Family

View event videos >

View event photos >

Date: September 19, 2019

Location: Steam Plant Dayton

Champion Sponsor: Innovative Care Solutions

5:30 pm – Cocktails and Heavy Hors d’oeuvres

6:30 pm – Program

Sponsor Champions of Hope >

Thank you 2018 Sponsors:

Champion Sponsor          







Gold Sponsors

The Robert H. Brethen Foundation

Silver Sponsors
Lighthouse Investment Partners, LLC
Pavilion Advisory Group

Bronze Sponsors
App Architechture
Barnhizer & Associates

Cotterman & Company Inc.
Kobrick Coffee Co.
Thompson Hine LLP
Champlin Architecture
Wagner Subaru